Arkea-Samsic and Cofidis Candidates for the New World Tour Team

The world bicycle racing Federation, UCI, provides 20 slots for the WorldTour team for the 2020-2022 period. And now, there are already 20 teams that registered themselves. They are 18 teams that now exist, plus two more who want to advance from the Pro Continental level. The two teams are Arkea-Samsic and Cofidis, both from France.

Usually, WorldTour team registration and verification is done once a year. However, starting this year, it is made for the next three years. Rations were added from 18 to 20.

Initially, there were four teams that were thought to be registering as new members. Besides Arkea-Samsic and Cofidis there are also Vital Concept-B & B Hotels plus Total Direct Energy. But, at the end of the registration, only two submitted an application.

If more than 20 teams register, UCI will verify based on achievement, financial capability, and ethics ( track record in compliance with regulations).

Most likely, all 20 teams will be declared to pass verification. Of the 18 teams that already exist, two will change names. Dimension Data will change to NTT, while Katusha-Alpecin becomes Katusha-Israel Racing Academy (IRA). The latter was due to a merger between Katusha and the Pro Continental IRA team.

Among the new registrants, Arkea-Samsic is indeed quite aggressive. They have recruited champions Giro d’Italia and Vuelta a Espana, Nairo Quintana. In addition, they also have a great sprinter , Nacer Bouhanni.

Meanwhile, at the level below WorldTour, there are also changes. The Pro Continental category changed its name to “ProTeam.” A total of 17 teams registered.

In the women’s category, UCI has prepared a minimum of five slots for the Women’s WorldTour category. At present, there are already eight who registered. Before this, there was no specific verification for the women’s team. As long as they are ranked 15th in the world, the team is declared the highest level. (riding bicycle)

20 UCI WorldTour Registrar Team 2020-2022 

1. AG2R La Mondiale
2. Astana Pro Team
3. Bahrain-Merida
4. Bora-Hansgrohe
5. CCC Team
6. Cofidis
7. Deceuninck-QuickStep
8. EF Education First
9. Groupama-FDJ
10. Lotto Soudal
11. Mitchelton- Scott
12. Movistar Team
13. NTT Pro Cycling Team
14. Arkea-Samsic
Team 15. Ineos Team
16. Jumbo-Visma
Team 17. Katusha-Israel Racing Academy
Team 18. Sunweb Team
19. Trek-Segafredo
20. UAE Team Emirates 

 17 UCI ProTeam Registrar Team 

1. Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
2. B&B Hotels-Vital Concept
3. Bardiani CSF Faizane
4. Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
5. Corendon-Circus
6. Fundacion-Orbea
7. Gazprom-Rusvelo
8. Nippo Delko Marseille Provence
9. Rally Cycling
10. Riwal Readynez Cycling Team
11. Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
12. Team Novo Nordisk
13. Neri Sottoli Selle Italia KTM
14. Total Direct Energie
15. Uno-X Norwegian Development Team
16. Wallonie Bruxelles
17. Wanty Gobert-Tormans

Eight UCI Women’s WorldTour Registration Teams

1. BTC Ale Ljubljana
2. Canyon-SRAM Racing
3. CCC-Liv
4. FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
5. Mitchelton-Scott
6. Movistar Team Women
7. Sunweb Team
8. Trek-Segafredo

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button