The World Champion’s First Victory

Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-QuickStep) finally got his first victory after becoming world champion. The French rider won the De Brabantse Pijl 2020, Wednesday (7/10) night. Alaphilippe eliminated Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) and Benoit Cosnefroy (AG2R La Mondiale).

De Brabantse Pijl 2020 is a one day race in the 1.Pro category that takes place in Belgium. This race is included in the UCI Europe Tour agenda. De Brabantse Pijl 2020 completed a 197 kilometer race. Start from Leuven and finish in Overijse.

Cosnefroy was the first to launch the sprint , about 200 meters from the finish line. However, the French racer was unable to maintain his position after being overtaken by Alaphilippe and Van der Poel.

Alaphilippe almost lost a victory like at Liège-Bastogne-Liège 2020, 4 October. The 28-year-old was celebrating too early. He took his hand off the handlebar when his bicycle had not yet crossed the finish line.

From the left appeared Van der Poel with great speed. At first glance the two racers seemed to finish simultaneously. However, the finished photo confirmed that Alaphilippe was the winner. Meanwhile, Van der Poel had to settle for finishing second.

“It’s a really great feeling to win a race wearing a rainbow jersey. Even wearing it in the morning is something special. So winning is incredible,” said Alaphilippe after the race.

ictory at De Brabantse Pijl 2020 was also an antidote after the disappointing results of Liège-Bastogne-Liège 2020. Alaphilippe lost his title after being stolen by Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) right on the finish line.

“I’m very happy to be here (De Brabantse Pijl I just want to give my best and enjoy my jersey. I race like that, I like it, and I’m very happy to win,” said the 2019 La Flèche Wallonne champion. . (riding bicycle)

De Brabantse Pijl 2020 Results ( Top Ten )
1. Julian Alaphilippe (France), Deceuninck-QuickStep 4 hours 36 minutes 52 seconds
2. Mathieu Van der Poel (Netherlands), Alpecin-Fenix ​​+0
3. Benoit Cosnefroy (France), AG2R la Mondiale +0
4. Sonny Colbrelli (Italy), Bahrain McLaren +13
5. Warren Barguil (France), Arkea-Samsic +13
6. Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland), Ineos Grenadiers +13
7. Andrea Bagioli (Italy), Deceuninck -QuickStep +13
8. Anthony Turgis (France), Total Direct Energie +13
9. Alessandro Covi (Italy), UAE-Team Emirates +13
10. Dries Devenyns (Belgium), Deceuninck-QuickStep +13

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button